Who we are

An international and interdisciplinary team united by the common goal of accelerating and improving microbiological analysis.


rqmicro AG is a life science and tech startup founded in 2013 as a spin-off from ETH Zurich (Switzerland). The company is based in Schlieren, Switzerland and operates a Representative Office in Shanghai, China.

Since then, the company has invested significant resources in developing a unique and proprietary platform for the rapid analysis of bacteria in water.

rqmicro aims to protect consumers worldwide from microbiologically contaminated water. Our first commercial application focuses on the detection of Legionella bacteria, which pose the most relevant threat in drinking water systems.


The ability to monitor the quality and safety of drinking water effectively and economically is a key driver towards achieving the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal 6: Ensure access to water and sanitation for all. Microbiological monitoring of water is also an enabler for achieving energy-efficient housing and water reuse. We are proud to contribute to this objective and help make water safe for everyone.

ETH Zürich

European commission

UN Sustainable Development Goals


Dr. Hans-Anton Keserue


Dr. Daniel Schaffhauser


Tobias Schaad


Dr. Björn Biedermann

Head of Sales

Dr. Damien Morger

Life Sciences

Principal Scientist

Flavio Eiholzer


R&D Engineer

Xueying Mao

rqmicro China

Business Development Manager

Lucy Yang

Life Sciences

Associate Scientist

Grzegorz Montowski

Life Sciences

Junior Associate Scientist

Dr. Irène Schwyzer

Quality Assurance

Regulatory Affairs Manager

Dr. Bart Raes

Life Sciences

Associate Scientist

Madeleine Parish

Life Sciences

Application Specialist

Ivona Begic Mandic

Sales & Marketing

Inside Sales & Marketing

Christophe Gutknecht

Sales & Marketing

Senior Sales Manager

Board of Directors

Dr. Hans-Anton Keserue

Martin Angehrn

Stephan Wintsch

Dr. Daniel Auerbach



Prof. Dr. Petra Dittrich

Dr. Bruno Oesch

Prof. emer. Dr. Thomas Egli


Dr. Jan Lichtenberg

Marcel Lüscher